have fun, stay single.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my singlehood… As a woman (yep, I’m totally stereotyping), overthinking is what I do.

And as I think, this quote from Singles keeps coming to mind:
“My dad left home when I was eight. You know what he said to me? Have fun, stay single. I was eight.”

And I keep concentrating on that saying — “have fun, stay single”.  It runs over and over in my mind.  Is this what I should do?  I’m not saying I should keep it as a permanent life motto, but for now…

Every time I get involved with another guy, it ends up kind of a mess.  A brief synopsis: I find them attractive, I hook up with them, I ignore that we have nothing in common, and I cling cling cling.  Not because of the guy, but because I am currently an emotional mess.

And when I decide that I’m done with worrying about a certain guy, I feel this great wave of relief and peace and whatever awesome feelings come when you let go of some overbearing obsession.  There are of course also moments of “OMG I’m so single and alone” because there are no distractions.  But.. is that something I should learn to overcome in order to gain from this single experience, and to keep from going insane from so many emotions about a random guy who isn’t even right for me?

Focus on friends. On school, enjoying spring, flirting with guys, but not getting involved with them…

Yea, that might be something to consider.

0 Responses to “have fun, stay single.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

