blessed with such problems

I’m in my 20s. I am responsible for no one but myself.  I am in college, and my life basically revolves around fun.  Parties, friends, drinking, and the one thing I talk/think about most: men/boys/sex (you get the picture).

And this is what I complain about here in my little blog.  This boy only wants this, that boy didn’t text me, etc.  You know what those complaints are about? Losing a certain level of fun I had in my life.  I have a great time with these guys for the most part.  Them not texting (or whatever the issue is) is a sign that this particular party may be over.

I recently watched a movie that reminded me to step outside my selfish little bubble for a minute.  The movie was The Stoning of Soraya M, and it was about a woman accused of adultery and sentenced to death by stoning.  It was a painful and beautiful movie to watch, and based on a true story from 1986.

It reminded me how lucky I am to have the problems I have.  I am free. Free to flirt, dress however provocatively I choose, kiss, and whatever else I want to do with the opposite sex.  I enjoy it, it’s fun, and I will never be penalized with a painful death like these women are.

How incredibly lucky am I to have this freedom.  I love men, and I am free to interact with them as I choose.

So, for once, while I’m still in this objective and unselfish state of mind, I am only going to be grateful for my “problems” with guys.  Thank you, thank you, thank you to whatever force has left me in such an advantageous position, and I pray for all the women who aren’t so lucky.

0 Responses to “blessed with such problems”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

